Overview of the city on a sunny day
  • Home
  • The City Areas

The City Areas

The Reykjavík Capital Area is the country's largest and most populated city and is currently home to 245.000 people (Sept 2022), that's two-thirds of the entire Icelandic population!

Not many foreign travellers know that 6 different municipalities combine the capital area. These municipalities are Kópavogur, Hafnarfjörður, Garðabær, Mosfellsbær, and Seltjarnarnes. Although each town has its own administration, they co-operate on things like transport, keeping them all well connected. 


Culture hill in Kópavogur

Welcome to Kópavogur, the easy way to experience culture and nature all in one stop. Conveniently located at the Hamraborg bus stop, the hill includes five unique cultural attractions within walking distance.

Hafnarfjörður overview of the center

Get off the beaten track and take bus number 1 from downtown Reykjavík for 20 minutes to Hafnarfjörður. Harbour Village is perfect to explore on foot, with free museums, curious little jewellers, cafés, boutiques and galleries.


Mosfellsbær route on a sunny day

With outdoor activities as its greatest attraction, get ready for a journey of beautiful hikes in diverse landscapes, historic sites, wool shopping and more, all within the Mountain Borough area.


Grótta during sunset

Just a few minutes from downtown Reykjavík you’ll find Point Panorama. Surrounded by the ocean, Seltjarnarnes peninsula draws visitors and locals alike for inspiring walks and thrilling cycling paths with panoramic views of magnificent nature, the mountains and the sea.

Overview of Garðabær

With its vast wild nature from Heiðmörk Nature Reserve in the east to Álftanes peninsula in the west, it is ideal for outdoor life. Less than 20 minutes from the city center and home to the President of Iceland, the town of Garðabær draws many visitors a year.

Heiðmörk at day time

Get ready for the diverse landscapes and unbelievable lava formations of Heiðmörk Nature Reserve. Enjoy hiking, fishing or horseback riding, walk among the 26 species of trees and spot some of the 60 species of wild birds. Watch the northern lights away from the city lights. You can experience the diversity of Icelandic nature all within the capital.

Visit our museums

The National Museum of Iceland
Hafnarfjörður Museum
Saga Museum
The Icelandic Phallological Museum
Árbær Open Air Museum
The Settlement Exhibition
Whales of Iceland
Perlan Museum