Skip to main content

Recipients of the 2014 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace

YOKO ONO has announced the four recipients of the 2014 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace, the biennial award which she inaugurated in 2002.

Previous recipients of the award have included Doctors Without Borders,
Josh Fox, Michael Pollan, Alice Walker, The Centre for Constitutional Rights, Pussy Riot and the late Rachel Corrie.
This year’s awards, which will be presented in Reykjavik, Iceland, on October 9 ( John Lennon’s birthday) go to the following;
JANN WENNER     Co-founder and publisher of ‘Rolling Stone’ magazine
JEREMY GILLEY   Founder of the non-profit organisation Peace One Day
JON GNARR  Politician and former Mayor of Reykjavik
Yoko said of the four recipients; “In the ’60’s Jann made rock n roll a household name single-handedly promoting it within the press. Jeremy Gilley, with Peace One Day, made it easy for all people to join the Peace movement. Art Production Fund is an ambitious public arts project created by Doreen Remen and Yvonne Force Villareal, whilst Jon Gnarr showed the world that governmental politics are for the people and by the people. I am very happy to honour each of these four recipients this year with the award that, for me, symbolises much of the work that John Lennon and I tried to do together and which I now continue to do”.
Since 2007 Yoko has travelled to Iceland to lead ceremonies commemorating John Lennon on October 9, his birthday. On that day she illuminates IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, a vast tower of light which is situated on the island of Videy. The tower is lit from that day until the day of Lennon’s death, December 8.