Skip to main content

Yoko Ono Announces the Recipients of the 2016 Lennon Ono Grant for Peace

Yoko Ono has today announced the four recipients of the 2016 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace, the biennial award she inaugurated in 2002. Receiving the award this year will be Ai Weiwei, Sir Anish Kapoor, Katalin Ladik and Olafur Eliasson.

Previous recipients of the award have included Doctors Without Borders, Josh Fox, Michael Pollan, Alice Walker, The Centre for Constitutional Rights, Pussy Riot, Art Production Fund, and the late Rachel Corrie.

As ever, this year’s awards will be presented in Reykjavik, Iceland, on Sunday, October 9 (John Lennon’s birthday).

The recipients are:
AI WEIWEI           Chinese artist and activist
 (b. 1957 in Beijing, China)    

ANISH KAPOOR         British/Indian artist
 (b. 1954 in Bombay, India)

KATALIN LADIK          Hungarian poet, performance artist and actress
(b. 1942 in Novi Sad, Serbia)

OLAFUR ELIASSON     Danish/Icelandic artist
(b. 1967 in Copenhagen, Denmark)

Yoko said of the four recipients; “I’m very proud to award the 2016 Lennon Ono Grant For Peace to the four incredible individuals named here. To have to label any of them with a description of what they do is both limiting and frustrating, because what they give to our world is so much bigger than even the tangible art they create. Born in different cultures, each of the recipients has shown us the true path of creativity, belief and hope for the world. Their huge contribution to our world is so much greater than the sum of its parts.”

Further information about the awards and the recipients will follow.

Since 2007 Yoko has travelled to Iceland to lead ceremonies commemorating John Lennon on October 9, his birthday. On that day she illuminates IMAGINE PEACE TOWER, a vast tower of light, which is situated on the island of Videy. The tower is lit from that day until the day of Lennon’s death, December 8.